Future Fashionista

My usual end of season sale shopping trip was something of a revelation this year, not only because half of the high street has been in sale for an increasingly long period, but because my 5-year-old daughter actually wanted to go with me into town, seeking in particular;

 “A sparkly top to match her black tutu that Nanna and Granddad bought’

 I am going to take a chance here and say that most kids hate going clothes shopping, especially sale shopping when it’s the equivalent of a rugby scrum in most stores, the heating is turned right up and the queues are ridiculously long. I also imagine that most children, during the summer holidays want to do nothing more than stay in their pyjamas, watch Nickelodeon and eat rubbish all day.

So imagine my surprise when my little girl (because she still is a little girl, each to their own and all but there are no brats dolls, make up, strappy tops or heels in her possession) comes into my room fully dressed at 10am one bright August day and proclaims she would like to go girly shopping for a top and then to McDonald’s! I’m all for her taking pride in her appearance and having an interest in fashion, especially when it’s been a major preoccupation in my life since a young age. However, it did make me wonder how young role models are becoming and at what age is it acceptable to make your own fashion choices?

It would seem that I am something of a dinosaur when just 20 minutes research into an array of famous tots offered a multitude of blogs, website and fan pages, and that was just for Suri Cruise! After what seems like an eternal wait for the Beckham’s brood to grow by one pink one, we can finally welcome the new girl in town as 8 weeks old Harper Beckham (according to mummy Victoria’s Twitter feed) is currently attending her first NY Fashion Week. The child is about 8 weeks old and has already got a front row (car) seat at the hottest venues/shows in town! And here is me wondering whether to brave H&M on a Saturday morning in the school holidays.

I decided to let go of the reins a little and allow my daughter some freedom to make her own clothing choices. To my utter delight she chose a Rolling Stones t-shirt and bright red ballet flats, which coincidently matched the huge ketchup stain down her Gap hoody after finishing up, as promised at McDonald’s. Not quite NY Fashion Week, but it’ll do for my little fashionista in the making.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Future Fashionista

  1. Excellent blog! Do you have any suggestions for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many options out there that I’m completely overwhelmed
    .. Any ideas? Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

