Community Spirit

Just got back in from taking my little beauty to play group, it’s a bit daft really because she’s only 6 months old and doesn’t really do much in the way of playing, just gurgling, drooling and crying to be fed mainly. This was our second time at the local church play group and I was pleasantly surprised at the number of attendees and the community spirit. I’m not particularly religious, but we live in a fairly remote place and the need to talk to adults at least once a week is greater than my fear of singing songs containing the lyrics ‘Hallelujah’.

Charity show

Image via Wikipedia

Today the elderly play group leader (wearing a beautiful Chanel inspired twinset and chiffon scarf) reminded parents about the children’s clothing exchange that is taking place next week, and thanked parents who had made so much effort to help those less fortunate at the earlier events. Following this announcement I quickly scanned the parents all kneeling on the floor with toddlers squirming for freedom and tried to size up the competition. If I’m going to give I want the caliber of my wares to be top notch, I can’t help it, its my competitive side which never fails to shine whether it concerns charity events or the school bake sale!

The parents are a real mix of ages and fashion-persuasion, some sport toddler-proof clothes such as jeans and a much-loved/washed patterned top. (Patterns disguise a multitude of baby stains, food, drool etc) Unfortunately there are also hints of sandals and corduroys, but this is a Church group and thou shall not judge….for now. Thankfully a minority who throw caution into the wind and stay firmly on trend with cute knitwear, block coloured skinny jeans and ballet flats which are classed as both a mummy wardrobe staple and  a trend must have.

So from my in-depth market research, I think my chances of providing the Church and local community with good quality, fashionable baby clothes which most importantly are better than those donated than the others are looking good. Once I’ve finished freshly washing and ironing them all, and lovingly folding them into size coördinated, aesthetically pleasing bales, I just need to get a grip of myself and appreciate the true meaning of community spirit!

I really love Fashion, its soaring highs and its eccentricities, and what I’m about to write is like saying football is just a game to an avid supporter but, there really is more to life….sometimes.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

