Forever Young

All my life I’ve been 9 years and 5 months older than my sister which has never been more grieving than now as I am rapidly approaching 30. I met her in town the other day for coffee and was taken aback by how trendy she looked. Now don’t get me wrong, she’s a gorgeous looking girl, had more hair colours than I’ve had jobs and looks good in a bin bag. But, never has she shown such a passion for all things bang on trend. I was……don’t tell her…..Jealous!

When I was a teenager and she was still getting excited about Pokémon and light-up scooters I used to take her to town with me shopping pretty much every Saturday, which I like to tell myself is where her current burst of enthusiasm for Topshop originated. However I’m pretty sure its got more to do with being at uni and having control of her own money. I used to make my little sister model my textile creations during my time at college, she spent many an afternoon standing on my mum’s dining room chairs while I pinned, nipped and tucked at couture creations. She spent most of the time whining because I would accidentally stick her with my inexperienced tailoring. That’s not the worst of it, I would let her put her hands on the sun beds while I tanned, I got brushes stuck in her hair trying to volumise it and made her leaflet the local neighbourhood with me so I could afford a new Kookai dress for a night out. She was like a sponge, taking it all in, scouring through magazines with me and my school friends. She probably should have been more concerned with the adventures of Scooby Doo, but was instead forming opinions on Daphne’s purple and green dress combo.

The biggest mistake I made at this time was to fall into debt. My obsession with all things on trend lead to a store card, which led to a credit card, and wearing an outfit once and once only. We’re talking ten years ago here so I wasn’t paying Primark prices. The only thing I ever saved up for was a pair of Vivienne Westwood pirate boots, I wore them once and sold them on Ebay for a quarter of the price. I would think nothing of spending a couple of hundred quid on clothes that would probably never see the light of day. As long as the minimum payments were manageable then…yeah I will have that Karen Millen dress thank you very much.

Whilst I would never attempt to take real credit for my little sister becoming a fashionista, I’d like to think there is a bit of a legacy there. She has definitely learned from my mistakes and hasn’t fallen into debt for the sake of a pair of sandals or maxi dress. I’m sure she’ll buy the odd item, wear it once and bin it, but if she’s not paying for it in ten years time like I am, then the legacy lives on. I’m just taking a little longer than expected to get my head around borrowing clothes from her and not the other way around. Not sure I can still get away with Nike high-tops and a Back to the Future T-shirt?

Image

One of my favourite memories of us growing up together is of buying a Posh Spice (Victoria Beckham for those who are post-Spice Girls) inspired little black dress, which now I think about it was actually dark blue and made from hideous fabric. It was a fashion no-no, boobs and legs dress and it barely covered either. I stuck it on, threw back the curtain and invited her critique. With wisdom far beyond her 9 years and 5 tender months her words were….

‘Mum’s going to kill you’

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Forever Young

  1. Samantha says:

    this is so funny! ‘She probably should have been more concerned with the adventures of Scooby Doo, but was instead forming opinions on Daphne’s purple and green dress combo.’

    and very sweet.

    love your writing kate – keep it up!

  2. Gary Moore says:

    Very, very well written Kate.

    You may well have found your calling.

Leave a Reply

