Great Friday

Wow Easter has flown around this year don’t you think? Seems like only yesterday we were throwing money away on cards and trinkets and declaring our endless love on Valentine’s Day. From a commercial point of view, Easter is easily the cheapest holiday. Easter Eggs and cards are at rock bottom prices meaning we can fill our children (and more importantly ourselves) with chocolate. That’s all fine and good, but when it comes to the style stakes, I can feel my Mulberry purse begging for forgiveness.

Easter eggs

Easter eggs (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When I was little I moved house a lot, 22 times and counting in my eventful 29 years and it was only when I moved to the city that I became aware of a tradition that I’m slightly ashamed to say I’ve carried on with my own children. Having new clothes for Easter was the norm in the city, yet when I’d lived in the countryside and on the continent, Easter weekend was like any other, with added sweets and a day off for your folks. Suddenly there was a new set of rules and your obviously not cool if you don’t have the latest Lacoste tracksuit and Reebok trainers on Easter Sunday (We’re talking early nineties here) and wait it gets worse, you then have to have a whole new outfit for Bank Holiday Monday! It’s just a bank holiday! Normally spent feeling a bit sick, going to visit your Nan and playing on the PS1 all day. Why on earth would you need a whole new set of clothes for these activities? It’s funny that I write that now, it’s also very hypocritical because I cried my leg off for new clothes every time Easter came around, and drove my poor mum to distraction. Luckily I think she understood the peer pressure and relented, to this day I have never owned a Lacoste tracksuit, but a leggings and top set from Next almost every year. My mum drew the line at Bank Holiday clothes, that’s just ridiculous.

After some well planned research from wholly reliable sources it would seem that the Roman’s, Tudor’s and old Irish adage’s are equally responsible for the tradition that has literally lasted through the ages. Throw in a touch of superstition and good old scaremongering and well, no one wants bad luck for the rest of the year do they? Better nip into Reiss for some new threads before the crows settle in to nest. Some of the most ridiculous reasons for shopping listed right here for future use.

At Easter let your clothes be new,
Or else be sure you will it rue.

In true form I have indeed bought my two girls some new clothes and shoes for Easter, because we will be spending the day with family and going out for lunch. Personally I think this is a perfectly acceptable reason for buying two completely new outfits which will get covered in chocolate and dinner. Much better than being worried about Roman Emperor Constantine 1st shunning us with his Easter garb. Happy Good Friday everyone, whatever you’re doing and whatever you’re wearing x.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

