Crouching Blogger, Slipped Disc

Well it’s been a horrendous few days to say the least. Somehow between Thursday evening and Friday afternoon I managed to ‘slip a disc in my back and have been in agony since. I finally got to see my gp today who has prescribed me with wonderful painkillers and the stern advice ‘Do not wear heels for at least 3 weeks’ WHAT????? But it’s the weekend in 48 hours, and I have a wedding in just over a week and and……..I am not happy about this news and fully intended to break the rules and wear heels as if nothing was wrong, then I tried to get off the sofa this afternoon and was reminded that my poor spine and its dodgy disc’s deserve a better deal.It may be more a case of suffer now so I can still pull off more than a kitten heel post 60?

William Morris, who strongly opposed restoration

William Morris (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Sitting in the waiting room of my doctor’s surgery this morning I noticed a lot of smartly dressed older women, baring I mind I live in the country so we’re not talking Chanel twinset and pearls but definitely witnessing a parade of Barbour, Phase Eight and vintage Laura Ashley (I had to ask one lady where she got her floral tea dress and was amazed that it was 30 years old) I felt it might be a bit rude to conduct market research in the surgery waiting room but I was intrigued about how many of these women had invested in their health in their younger years and if it had impacted on¬†their current stage of life. There are always women in the village out walking, whether it be with shopping bags or full rambling gear, and two ladies in particular who run local shops sport funky William Morris framed glasses and a vast array of costume jewellery. They all look so healthy, especially in their Jones the Bootmaker pointy heeled boots! This isn’t fair I’m only half their age and struggling to put my Uggs on never mind heels. I have decided to conduct a survey in the coming days to discover whether its worth making sacrifices in trendy footwear to support a life long love affair with fashion. I get the feeling that I’m going to be told ‘there’s more to life’ and no doubt hear the gory details about far too many chiropody complaints. Maybe I’ll stick to my Nike’s for a few more days so I’m well enough for the wedding. One weekend off fashion won’t kill me, or my dodgy disc

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

