Make It Pretty

Just finished a conference call with the lovely peeps at Pixie Dust Merchandising, following our project with a well known high street pharmacy/retailer. I was very excited to be getting back on the North West high street as my daughter says ‘ to make things look pretty‘ I’ve never really taken offence because aside from the extensive research behind Visual Merchandising, that’s pretty much what my job entails and more importantly it pays the bills.

I am lucky enough to work with products that are constantly in demand and almost sell themselves. Its my job to ensure that the stock is readily available, displayed in an orderly fashion and prominent on the shelves among the competitors and I love nothing more than chatting to shoppers about how much they love the range. I’m not sure of the exact figures but lets agree that the majority of women and girls have worn false lashes and or nails at some point. I found after a few days on the shop floor that the average age of consumers for these products was around 19, with an influx of girls in school uniform boosting weekday sales post 3.15pm.

Superdrug

Superdrug (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m not really in a position to offer advice when it comes to working in merchandising, I’ve not had a long career in the field but I have learned a lot of things in a short space of time. Thanks to a certain UK Head of Visual Merchandising at a global sports lifestyle brand I have learned how the little things make a huge impact. If your a little obsessed with ‘ a place for everything and everything in its place’ you may well enjoy merchandising. Also, if your handy with a screw driver, are not too bothered about your nails being broken and you can look good half hanging off a ladder in a store window you could go far. Whilst I love working with new products, keeping on top of the trends and meeting the staff in store the reality is you often end up covered in dirt and dust, spend far too much time on public transport and if your OCD like me, I always think I could have done a better job.

I’d love to know more about what goes on behind the scene’s when it comes to merchandising. How do the powers that be find out how to entice shoppers into the stores, what store layout to go for, what graphics will catch our attention and put our hands in our pockets?  I think it would be a real eye opener to discover how the store fixtures and fittings are decided on and how subliminal messaging can affect how we spend our cash. Mind you I have been called a nerd on many occasions!

Next time your in Superdrug, check out those nails and lashes that’s my OCD in action right there!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

