Seasonal Style

What a day it’s been! When I left the house this morning in perfectly weather suitable attire I was on top of the world. I arrived home three hours later freezing cold and grumpy. I detest the changing of the season’s especially now that they are so harsh. One day its 22 degrees the next we have an inch of snow, what are we supposed to wear?

Screenshot of Karen Dotrice and Matthew Garber...

Look at that rain! (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I took my daughter to a children’s party this morning. I wore Gap cropped jeans, Topshop floral singlet, Zara prep blazer and ballet flats, accessorized with my large River Island tote and umbrella. The sun was shining so we both donned our sunglasses and headed out to have some fun. Imagine my dismay when half way through my over-priced hot chocolate I look out of the gaudily painted windows to see the rain hurling itself at the car park at an alarming rate. Yes, I have an umbrella but the wind also picked up considerably and while staying dry is majorly important when one has short hair, not being dragged down the street imitating a bad Mary Poppins takes precedence. This made me grumpy knowing I would have to go out and get wet feet and fasten the buttons on my blazer which makes me look like a nerd. How dare the weather change so suddenly?

I’m an avid checker of weather forecasts, I even have a friend who works at the Met Office, although this alliance has never given me the edge over anyone who catches the daily weather forecast during Daybreak. Is it just me or are seasonal changes taking forever to happen these days? Wasn’t Spring supposed to have started about a month ago and surely Summer is just around the corner, so what’s with the snow? My poor handbag is battered with carrying extra items of clothing among all my usual junk. Ordinarily I might have a pashmina and sunglasses lurking in there but in addition I’m now carrying a cardigan, socks and all important plastic bag to wrap my soggy umbrella in. Inter-season dressing is getting me down, the store displays and magazines have flaunted the SS12 trends for weeks and it seems like we will never get a chance to actually wear it. Is there a Summer in sight?

Needless to say, my daughter and I ditched the soggy ballet flats for comfy Christmas socks and spent the rest of the day eating left over Easter eggs and spag-bol. Until the weather sorts itself out, this is how we intend to stay….see you in September then.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

