Project Nip/Tuck

I’ve felt a little bored these last few weeks what with my back troubles and not really being able to do a lot, my creative spidey-sense has tingled for a little project to get my teeth into. Having spent the afternoon clearing out my girls’ wardrobes to give the old items away to charity I remembered I had my ruined wedding dress hanging in the spare room and as no one has actually worn it, it’s definitely ripe for a little creative tailoring!

My husband and I got married in deepest, darkest January with just 8 weeks notice and so choosing a dress was always going to be difficult. Most current season dresses take on average 16 weeks on order from designers/wholesalers, plus January is about as much ‘out of season’ as you can possibly get. Luckily I happened upon a local bridal boutique in the middle of a sale. I had some reservations about how I wanted to look on my wedding day, I have been married before and had the big fairytale white dress complete with princess-wannabee tiara. Now I’m a little older, a mum and getting married in a registry office I didn’t think the big meringue was appropriate?! Also, my baby was only four months old at this time and so I was still carrying a little more weight than I am normally comfortable with. Jeeze, talk about taking the fun out of it!

I finally settled on an Ivory silk dupion, strapless, A-line gown with a small train.  I fell in love with the fit and although it’s strapless the bodice fit and moulded my upper body perfectly without showing too much flesh. You may be able to see from the (badly positioned) photo’s that the silk is gathered to one side where there are natural pleats which sit beautifully on the hip. The dress has little detail to speak of, silk buttons down the concealed zip at the back, and the natural creasing of the fabric allows the dress to look elegant without embellishments. To complete my ensemble I opted for a small feathered shrug in ivory to cover my shoulders and a simple three strand hair band with ivory pearl beads to stand out from my dark brown hair. You may have gathered from this description that I am a plain girl at heart, its all about clean lines and symmetry for me!

So with four weeks to go I my bridesmaids had their dresses and coordinated acessories and I’d spent three days lovingly hand stitching a chapel length ribbon edged veil to sit low in my hair on the day. My outfit was complete and I was so pleased with myself to see my efforts really pay off.

Imagine my complete horror when on the Thursday evening, two days before my wedding, I collected the dresses from the bridal boutique to find the staff there has IRONED my SILK DUPOIN dress! The natural creases in the dress had a black streak to them and my dress looked dirty. I appreciate that the dress was a sale item but who on earth would sell a wedding dress knowing full well it was dirty? I was in floods of tears on the phone to my fiance, we tried everything to have the dress sorted out but as the fabric cannot be cleaned I was left with a dirty gown just 36 hours from my big day.

Luckily my fiance, now husband, saved the day and thanks to Debenhams I had a beautiful white Grecian styled column dress for my big day.

Now I have the ivory strapless gown, and its dirty marks in front of me and I’m wondering what on earth to do with it? I can’t wash it, and according to the bridal boutique steaming wont make any difference. So I guess I’m going to have to cover it with something?

Instead of looking at it with disgust at how much stress it caused me and my family, I am going to cut and sew it into a success story all of it’s on. I’ll update through the process and if you have any ideas about how to modify this dress please do leave a comment, it would be great to hear from you. Photo’s below.

Wish me Luck!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

