The Bucket

Has it poured down all day where you are today? It has here, and there’s nothing like a boring rainy Sunday to make you contemplate where you’d rather be. A number of my friends are working away in sunnier climes at the moment and being their friend on Facebook is becoming increasingly difficult. The sunrise over the mountains in Bali is absolutely breathtaking, but it was six am and chucking it down outside when I saw the picture, way to ruin my day! It seems much easier to continue to travel once you’ve made the initial leap, a few have moved abroad for work then later taken trips to other continents which appear closer than the 12 hour journey they involve. I’ve been very lucky to see a small part of what the world has to offer outside of the UK and my eldest daughter has even experienced Las Vegas and New York before turning 3.

My parents have travelled a lot too, especially my mum who, now retired enjoys an average of four holidays abroad a year. We were discussing this earlier and she told me about one of her friends who made a life changing decision to go and work on cruise ships, age 50. The woman in question has raised her two children, put them through university, out-grown her husband, paid her mortgage off and retired after a long career in law enforcement. She felt that she had to put her duties as a mum and wife before being able to follow her dreams and tick off her bucket list. Now she has a year round tan, spends six months of the year in the Caribbean and flies her grandkids out for holidays.

I couldn’t help but feel inspired by her story and wondered if all those things that I’d wanted to do before I had children, would still be possible after their grown and living their own lives? The places that I want to visit and really immerse myself in the culture may not be suitable for a 7 month old baby and hyperactive 6-year-old. Even though I have tried to break down the boundaries of long haul city breaks with young children, it’s not always much of a holiday when nappies and sterilizing bottles comes before snorkelling and romantic strolls on the beach. I have a bit of an unofficial bucket list, most will find it boring as the majority of points are about travelling and seeing the world. Here’s a few points;

1. Visit Niagara Falls and pluck up the courage to ride on the Maid of the Mist. It would be great to not have to spend at least a few minutes each day watching the falls on the live camera feed online to see what it looks like!  You too can be mesmerised by it here.

2. Sit front row at a designer fashion show. Okay so this one is unlikely and definitely a no no with kids…but you never know!

3.  Attend the Cannes Film Festival. Don’t really mind if I don’t get to sit next to a superstar at a premier, but to be there during the festival itself would be awesome.

So probably not massively exciting to you but I guess I have devised my list based on what is actually possible and what (with a huge amount of luck and praying) could happen. There are also points that I’ve been able to mark off too, visiting New York was so much fun, especially playing in Central Park when my daughter was a toddler and working at the Sydney Olympics was also an amazing once in a lifetime experience that I will never forget.

Niagara Falls

Niagara Falls (Photo credit: moarplease)

What is on your bucket list, and if you don’t have one yet what would you write on it? I want to be able to look back on my life and remember the day I peed myself going under Niagara Falls, sat next to SJP at Gucci and had my picture taken with Johhny Depp at his yacht party in Cannes. Or I could sit and laugh with my kids about our annual all-inclusive trip to Salou, I’m sure that would make me equally happy.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Bucket

  1. Naphtali says:

    1-3 are on my list, see the Grand Canyon, be fluent in 3 languages (currently learning Italian), rock climb ( check-indoors), have brunch one a month (check), air balloon, be an art model in Europe, get my BA degree( in process), travel to Italy( check and I will return this winter), France,Turkey, Bali, Thailand, Australia, Brasil during World Cup, fall in love and stay in love and buy a home….. are a few.

    • geordiesgirl says:

      Ahhh imagine Brazil during world cup! You can’t get atmosphere like that anywhere else! I’d also love to see the Rio Carnival, another must for me!!

Leave a Reply

