Guest Blog – Geordie on Manners

He’s off again banging on about manners this time. I really feel for my children because they will be talked to death should they ever put a foot wrong when it comes to manners and etiquette. I give you Geordie…..on Manners.

I’d like to think I’m a bit of an old school man because like my Dad, and his Dad I hate to shop. Shopping is such a bore and every where you go there are deals and offers that try to get you to buy products, mainly it’s just smart advertising and you’re not really saving any money, it’s just a scam.

'Manners Makyth Man': the motto of New College...

‘Manners Makyth Man’ (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The main reason I hate to go shopping is people, once again another situation were people become crazy idiots. I was brought up to have manners and to respect my elders, all the normal stuff  our parents drone on about or get a nice tanned ass. So when I walk through a door I will hold it open and let my wife go first and let others through, surely it’s normal then to expect a little thank you? No, nothing. You get blanked as if your invisible and they walk straight through. It drives me insane, tt’s like they are so important and above you, like it was your duty to hold the door for them! Also when I’m walking through the city people literally try to walk through me, I’m 6’3″ and yet people half my size will not get out of my way and will walk into me if I don’t move. I people watch, a past time my wife has introduced me to and I watch in amazement as people simply can’t deviate from their course to let others by.

Even when I have been in the shops it astonishes me at how rude people are, I mean manners don’t cost a thing. I was in a shop recently and was wandering up an aisle with my daughter in her buggy. At the other end a woman with a double buggy was coming towards me, obviously we both couldn’t fit so being a gentlemen I backed up and let the woman and her twins past. Did she say thank you? Did she hell, she sauntered past with a face like she was sucking a lemon and I’d purposely been in her way. Am I asking too much of people, is saying thank you that difficult? At times I have said ‘You’re welcome‘ very loudly as they pass, and they have the cheek to look at me like I’ve spat on them! What is wrong with people? Why do some find it so hard to be polite, is it their up bringing or is it just the way of our culture now and it’s me who’s in the wrong? Let me know won’t you?

Geordie.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Guest Blog – Geordie on Manners

  1. Manda says:

    I understand your frustrations completely! I don’t like most people, so I’m going to agree that they’re the problem, and it’s probably their upbringing. My least favorite place to shop is Wal-Mart. I guess you really can’t expect the classiest, most respectful shoppers at Wal-Mart, but it’s crazy there. I’ll be looking for something on the shelves when a stranger will stand directly in front of me to grab something without a simple “Oh, excuse me for just a second.” I don’t appreciate their big fat head blocking my view! I actually think many of these people are oblivious to how stupid and arrogant they come across. My mother taught me the importance of manners as a child, but maybe some kids were never taught such things. They missed out on some of those lectures, and it really shows. Sucks for them because they look like the idiot.

Leave a Reply

