Guest Blog – Geordie on Fitness

To end this series of Guest Blogging, and to celebrate my 50th post, Geordie has decided to go out with a bang and focus on his very favourite subject, fitness. I hope you’ve enjoyed reading Geordie’s little jaunt into the world of the written word, no doubt he’ll make another appearance as he seems to think he’s on to a winner? All opinions expressed are his own, enjoy.

I’m a very active person and really enjoy to keep myself in good shape, I also make sure that my family stay fit and healthy too. I dont force fitness on them but we do activities that are fun and enjoyable, hopefully teaching my young girls that it is fun to stay fit. It annoys me that I feel that I am constantly being punished for this, I mean the government are constantly banging on about the whole ‘fit for life‘ scheme but it’s so expensive to eat healthily. I have just found out that the government are looking to tax supplements and energy drinks now, why? Where is the fat tax?

Obesity Campaign Poster

Obesity Campaign Poster (Photo credit: Pressbound)

One of biggest killers in the UK is obesity and yet when tobacco was the main culprit, it was taxed to hell, so why aren’t fatty foods treated the same? I suppose the ‘Pasty Tax’ is a start. Why is it so cheap to eat fatty foods but to buy some salad and fruit is nearly twice the price? Why is it getting to the stage that it’s ok to be fat? I heard of 2 overweight women talking to each other and a skinny woman walked by and they said look at that skinny b**ch and no one even batted an eyelid and yet if it was the other way around and 2 skinny girls had said look at that fat b**ch, people would have been much more offended. I almost gave up hope when I saw the ‘Size Consultant’ woman on This Morning the other day. The woman in question was morbidly obese and is on a crusade to stop GP’s from using the term ‘Obese‘ as it’s offensive. Really? It’s a medical term!

Even getting on a plane now winds me up, if my luggage is over weight I have to pay for it, which is fair play. But if some one who is obese gets on the plane, they are probably heavier than me and my bag combined so why do I have to pay extra. Plus the last thing I want is someone next to me who is over weight taking up my space aswell as their own, surely I should get half my money back?
I have even been in a department store with my family and gone  to get the lift as we have the buggy and couldn’t get in because it’s full of over weight people who seemingly can’t be bothered to use the escalators or stairs. If these people had to catch their own food, they wouldn’t  be obese, it’s just too convenient to eat fatty foods and drive every where. The worst thing of all is that there are more over weights kids now, which is so unfair, what sort of start to life is that and best of all 9 times out of ten the over weight child has over weight parents. I have been to my daughters school and seen parents who live about 5 mins walk away drive their kids to school and then head straight home again! The schools are fighting a constant battle but at least they’re trying. Walk to School days and bans on chocolate and sweets in lunch bags are just the beginning.
What makes me laugh is events on the world stage like The Olympic Games where the people competing are super fit but the sponsors are Mcdonalds and CocaCola, how funny is that? I’ll bet none of the athletes go any were near the stuff!

Well it’s been fun. I’ve promised the wife I will continue to have an opinion on everything so she can get some decent writing material from it. I’ve got to keep her busy haven’t I?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Guest Blog – Geordie on Fitness

  1. Naphtali says:

    McDonald’s is sponsoring the Olympics, that is irony. I moved to Atlanta, Ga 6 years ago, many people here feel that french fries count as a vegetable, they don’t like fruits, nor will experiment with opening their taste buds.
    Fat is a epidemic that should be taxes, they were contemplating it here, but decided no. Many children here are suffering with type I diabetes, high cholesterol and blood pressure as well their parents.
    I just watched a set of documentary about being Fat in America, if right the life span of Americans will decrease dramatically in ten years. So America will be a free agent to any healthier country, since the work force will majorly be on unemployment due to Obesity reasons.
    Also in America they were trying to say “FAT” is an offense word and should be banned-CRAZY!

Leave a Reply

