Ring Ring….Hello is that Summer?

Wow, check it out…….it’s sunny! It’s almost June, it’s 22 degrees today and wait………….could this be it? Summer is here!

To celebrate this momentous occasion, and more likely frighten the sun back behind the clouds where it likes to hide, mocking our pasty white skin (That’s probably just me), I have given into the traditional British customs of having a BBQ, pitching a tent, purchasing/assembling a swing for the kids and attempting to spruce up the garden. I haven’t quite succumbed to the paddling pool and wine cooler but that’s purely down to my back still being in too many pieces. I absolutely love the warm weather and try to spend as much time as possible in the fresh air soaking up the rays slathered in factor 25 of course. I’m also incredibly lucky to have good genes and I tan really well (thanks Dad) so a couple of hours a day on my Disney Store Mickey Mouse towel, basking in the sunlight is enough to get tan lines.

Bbq wood

BBQ

I’m feeling terribly patriotic suddenly, with the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee next weekend, a few weeks until British Armed Forces Day and all this fabulous weather, there’s really never been a better time to be British. Those who know me will think I’ve got sun stroke as I’m fiercely proud of my Australian roots, I was born in Sydney however both of my parents are British through and through. It’s been 12 years since I was last on Aussie soil for the 2000 Olympics and what an amazing time that was. But it’s not the same when you can have a Barbie every day, they can’t make coleslaw and where is the fun in applying sun lotion more than twice a day?

The summer takes on a whole new meaning when you have kids. My eldest daughter is a little dolphin and loves nothing more than running around in a swimming costume all day regardless of whether there’s a paddling pool or beach front in sight. My youngest daughter is totally different kettle of er..fish. She has fair hair and skin and must stay covered in the sun, she hates the heat and won’t sit still to have lotion applied. These last few days of very hot weather have made me wonder whether booking that fortnight in Cape Verde was a good idea?

Geordie and I have agreed to take the indoor childcare in shifts, so I’m now sat with youngest daughter while she cruises around the living room floor, leaving a trail of drool in her wake. I’ve had my couple of hours of chilling out, reading my kindle and sipping Schloer in the back garden. The only possible thing that could have made my day any better just happened, my little girl just said Mama for the first time and well I’d stay indoors all year to hear that.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend, whatever your up to!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

