What I Put In

I’ve always been very lucky with my weight and blessed with a fast metabolism, I was one of those teenagers who could eat whatever  I wanted and not put on weight, although my skin would erupt on spying of a piece of chocolate, swings and roundabouts I guess.

Unfortunately I seem to have passed my rapid metabolism on to my two young daughters who frustratingly eat me out of house and home on a daily basis and I have fallen into a terrible slump of doing the same. Now I’m really unhappy with my weight and general appearance. I eat junk food because it’s there and doesn’t need preparing and anytime I nip out for random groceries such as nappies or baby milk I pick up chocolate too. It’s definitely gotten out of control.

I have tried slimming tablets but the caffine hit almost gave me a heart attack, since I slipped a disc two months ago I’m unable to do a lot cardio wise, but now thanks to an inspiring Twitter account I am done with excuses, here’s what I’m going to do…

5×50 is a nationwide voluntary event starting on September 9th 2012. The aim of the challenge is to walk, jog, run or cycle 5k everyday for 50 days to incorporate sport into everyday life. What attracted me to this event is that it’s totally do-able. Ideally I’d like to cycle the distance each day however the challenge allows you the freedom to adapt a trip to the shops or the school run to count as your daily 5k, providing you leave the car at home of course!

So in an attempt to kind of bully myself into losing weight and getting fitter I am going to record my weight each week and post my results. Diet wise I’m going to make a start now on this random Thursday and with the help of My Fitness Pal App I am confident I can beat the flab.

If you’d like to get involved with the challenge click here to find out more register. Also www.myfitnesspal.com is a fantastic tool in watching what you eat, and you can add friends to compare you results!

Good Luck….here’s my shameful start.

image

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

