It’s Good to be Long

The title of this blog is going to cover two completely different stories which have kept me very busy in the last week or so. I’m done with apologising for not blogging more regularly and banging on about my back (which is slightly better after the epidural treatment last week, thanks for asking) and if you don’t like my haphazard way of jumping in and out of the bloggisphere….tough. Ooooh check me out trying to be all harsh…I’m sorryI didn’t mean to upset you.

Credit Fashion Finder ASOS

I was out shopping with my sister a couple of months ago, I think we were in H&M at the time when I commented on the huge choice of tailed t-shirts and tops. By tailed I mean where the back hem is longer than the front hem. H&M stock this style in every colour and hue in their basic collection and personally I’m not a massive fan. They always remind me of Billy Connolly doing stand up in his black-tailed tee and odd shoes. For those young-uns who don’t know who Billy Connolly is, he played the bad guy in the last Garfield movie, and for those older peeps, yeah they made Garfield movie’s! On voicing my negative opinion on the tailed trend my sister, who is renowned for coming out with some really random opinions replied ‘Hey it’s always good to be long’.

I took a laughing fit at her latest doofus comment and even now I still don’t get it. She tried some feeble explanation based on us both being tall and often finding it frustrating to shop on the high street when it comes to maxi length dresses or trousers, but I still don’t see how a top that covers your behind and was previously championed by an aging, Scottish comedian who once danced naked around London’s famous Eros statue, would be a welcome addition to my wardrobe? I love the ensemble on the model pictured, but cant help but think it would look so much better if the tee wasn’t so long? Surely her figure looks bulky and unflattering from behind as the denim shorts are completely hidden? I’m yet to find another anti-long comrade in the argument as everyone else I’ve asked thinks it’s the bees. Bet my Dad would think it was stupid, but then again he is a big Billy fan. Hmmm.

Part two of the story is a bit of a twist on the title, it would be more apt to say It’s always good to belong. Like a lot of people I come from a dysfunctional family, my parents divorced when I was young, I have step-siblings and relations that don’t speak to each other. With our armed forces connections I’ve moved home almost 25 times now and my sister and me were born in foreign countries, so there’s two more passports to lose come holiday time. At Christmas I gave my Dad a book called ‘The Father’s Book, A Gift for you and your Father’ sounds like a great gift doesn’t it? You can have a look here. The book is stuffed full of questions about life and the aim is for my Dad to fill it in and return it to me as a keepsake for me and my family. Dad’s don’t talk do they? Since receiving the gift my Dad has realised that if he doesn’t recount the tales of his early life, we will never know what it was like and ultimately what shaped him into the man we know and love. I have just registered with Ancestry.co.uk and Genesreunited to find out more about my Dad’s family and after just one phone call to a distant second cousin I’ve heard tales of pit disasters, Indian adventures and a tragic death of a young baby and her mother. After moving around so often I’ve found it fascinating to uncover my working class roots in the North East of England  and I’m immensely proud to be a real Geordie Girl at heart. What’s your story?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “It’s Good to be Long

  1. ventedconcrete says:

    Love this post – Being 6ft myself i think i will now use that phase “its good to be long!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

