It Could Be You

 

This Friday see’s the EuroMillion’s jackpot draw reach the dizzy heights of £138m, what’s the first thing you would do if you won the jackpot? The absolute first thing I would do is ring my husband at work and tell him to get home sharpish to check I wasn’t having some kind of psychotic meltdown and that we had just become insanely rich. I wonder how long it takes to sink in?

D.C. Lottery

Gotta be in it, to win it!

If you’re anything like my family we’re constantly budgeting for our bills and shopping, plus odds and ends for the kids and school uniforms for the new school year to make those pounds and pence go a little further each month . So after winning such a huge amount of money, do these sensible practices go out of the window? Regardless of price my daughter’s uniform would still come from Marks & Spencer and shoes from Clarks because she’ll still wreck them the first week back at school. No Gucci for the little ones just yet!

Once all the sensible boxes are ticked i.e. paying off debts, buying a nice house and putting money into bonds for our daughters, I’d go on a ridiculous spending spree starting at Chanel, Paris! Sorry UK, but it’s going to take more than £1m shopping spree to fix our economy. (Bizarrely some of the fabric supplied to Chanel comes from a factory down the road from where I live in Cumbria!)

I think the biggest advantage of having disposable income is being able to travel. I’ve been lucky enough to travel a little bit before having my two girls, often taking them with us (NY & Vegas) but any time I’m asked where I’d like to go I can easily real off 10+ places I simply have to visit before I kick the bucket…..

1. Niagara Falls, Canada

2. Cannes, France

3. Sorrento, Italy

4. Darwin, Australia

5. San Francisco, USA

6. Monte Carlo, Monaco

7. Waikiki, Hawaii

8. Washington, USA

9. Cape Verde Islands

10. Port Louis, Mauritius

That’s my top ten at the moment, it changes almost daily thanks to the power of the Internet as I find out amazing things about new places all the time. Some say that money can’t buy happiness, but I believe it can buy options and choices that can lead to happiness. Maybe I should actually buy a ticket this week? If you don’t hear from me after the draw on Friday, it’ll probably be because I’m wallowing in disappointment that I didn’t get a single number…or because I can’t get an Internet connection on Waikiki beach!

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

