High Street Peek

I’m becoming a bit obsessed with people watching, it’s my favourite pastime at the moment although its more about what people are wearing so I’m going to rename is fashion watching. The thing is I have two young kids so it’s not like I can while away the hours sitting outside Starbucks with a coffee and Vogue on my lap, so I have found the next best thing. Street Chic!

Notting Hill Carnival 2006 (London, UK)

Notting Hill Carnival (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Vogue.co.uk has a section dedicated to what we’re wearing on the streets of the UK. The site covers lots of events too from V to Notting Hill carnival and of course all the action pre and post London fashion shows. I wanted to see how others put an outfit together and accessorize it to make it their own. The photo’s from V are interesting because the majority of women are rocking Hunter wellies due to the mud so I’m always keen to see what outfit is teamed up with the giant of festival chic. Luckily this year the conditions were less treacherous compared to Download and Creamfields so there were also lots of tribal sandals and summer dresses. My sister came back from Download with gaffa tape all over her wellies which had split from the deluge of muddy water and debris that slid towards her tent. Think I’ll give that one a miss.

I’m sure I have now viewed and passed commented on every gallery on Street Chic so in my quest for knowledge on what the trendy people are wearing I stumbled across On The Streets of Sydney. Sydney is my home town and although I left young and haven’t been back in over ten years, I’m even more intrigued to see what the fashion trends are like there. The site is an excellent source of information from street style to beauty trends and all the images and info from Melbourne Fashion Week as it happens. Aside from my fascination with people and their clothes, the features section of the site gives you a leg up on newcomers and their offerings with exclusive interviews. (Gabriel Lee I love your peachy hues and soft tailoring!)

There are a gazillion blogs that I look forward to reading from tailors, buyers, illustrators and fashion journalists to the ordinary girl with an interesting take on the current trends. Luckily for me some blogs have led to forging friendships with people in the fashion industry and often product freebies which was never more appreciated than when I was pregnant and struggling to find clothes to fit my tall yet round frame! I think the fashion world has been a major beneficiary from the Internet enabling everyone to have a constructive public opinion. Well….I would say that wouldn’t I?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

