The Reward Chart

Earlier this week and at the request of my 6-year-old we made a reward chart and hung it in the kitchen. The tasks were all about good habits as we rapidly approach the start of the new school year so things such as manners, bed times, homework and nail-biting. After two days she got a full sweep, a smiley sticker on all 8 tasks and she was completely elated! This morning I lay in bed listening to Geordie banging things around in the kitchen while getting ready for work. He came upstairs to stuff his third lot of stinking gym kit this week into the washing basket probably knowing full well that I’d be laying there fuming because he’s broken our little agreement. At least this morning he’s managed the potentially dangerous task of washing his own breakfast dishes, so why didn’t he do it the rest of this week? Can you see where I’m going with this?

A Cadbury Dairy Milk bar in 2006.

A Cadbury Dairy Milk bar  (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

If I could formulate a reward chart, only slightly more advanced than the junior one, where the reward for a full sweep of stickers was a happy marriage do you think it would work? If he can complete, lets just say 5 easy tasks such as putting a wash of your own stinking clothes on or hanging your soaking wet towel over the banister properly so it will actually dry. We could live in peace and harmony and happiness, small price to pay if you ask me. I came down after he’d left this morning to avoid any confrontation and to watch Fifi and the Flowertots (with the kids). I found a Dairy Milk next to the phone in the living room. Obviously I’m eating it….but I think I might have been done over. Is this my reward for not starting an argument? For not moaning on about his lack of help or thought for me? So he could go to work with the hope that I might have forgotten/chilled out by the time he gets home? I don’t know what the intention is but I’m eating it ………and putting a boil wash on. Bleurgh!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

