I Have A Dream

I was talking to my Dad yesterday, he was telling me that he’d had a rubbish night’s sleep as he had dreamed about my Nan who passed away 8 years ago. It would have been her 97th birthday last week had she battled through a broken hip as she had countless heart attacks and strokes. The last few nights I’ve had some random dreams too, random but very vivid. The most interesting one was EastEnders character Jack (Actor Scott Malsen) pursuing me through Venice desperate for a date?! I watch EastEnders around twice a month and rely on my Mum to fill me in on the story lines that I’ve missed so as I’m not an avid viewer I though my subconscious choice of love interested was indeed random?! PS I knew it was Venice because of the gondolas!

When I was about 6 I watched an episode of Casualty (yes it’s been going that long) that featured a patient who looked a bit like Frankenstein after sustaining a nasty head injury. For about two weeks afterwards I had nightmares that he was in the cupboard under the stairs and was trying to break free to get me! See vivid, it’s 24 years later and I still remember it well. Also around this time I received a What’s New Scooby Doo? annual for my birthday, one of the cartoon strip stories involved a rope bridge and the villain of choice this time was a very angry giant gorilla. Once again my over active imagination decided we’d be trying to escape the giant gorilla who was shaking the nuts out of the rope bridge as I held on for dear life. Stupid Scooby Doo.

Don’t you just love those dreams where you fall off a cliff or bridge and wake up a split second before you hit the ground? No me neither. Geordie certainly doesn’t care for being kicked/kneed/slapped in various body parts in the middle of the night as I simulate ninja like moves to combat the rapidly approaching ground. As a Mum it breaks my heart when my girls wake in the night in floods of tears because they’re had a nightmare. My youngest stays asleep most of the time and just whimpers which is particularly heart wrenching to hear. My eldest comes tearing into the room as if whatever horrific monster disturbed her sleep really was under her bed. Although by the state of her bedroom most days the monster would do himself more damage standing on Lego or Lalaloopsy dolls before he reached the door, good get away plan for a 6-year-old.

Sweet Dreams!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

