A Lesson in Greed

Come·up·pance; A punishment or retribution that one deserves; one’s just deserts:

In a earlier blog post I explained that I am no stranger to acts of stupidity and yet often wonder why things always happen to me? In my latest escapade it would be pure greed that would eventually serve me my ‘just deserts’.

At Easter time my Mum always buys the children an Easter egg and sets up an egg hunt around her garden, Easter 2011 was no different. Instead of buying us Easter eggs now that we’re pushing 30 years old, my Mum buys a big bag of Galaxy caramel and Diary Milk Caramel eggs to share out with a cuppa on Easter Sunday after a huge sumptuous dinner. As a big chocolate lover I devoured mine in seconds and it was only later that evening that I spied three extra eggs in the top of my Mum’s fridge and thought to myself, yes I can totally snaffle one of those without anyone knowing. To use one of my Dad’s favourite sayings; My eyes were bigger than my belly and I only got in two measly bites before I started to feel a bit ill. I admitted defeat and wrapped what was left of the caramel egg in the foil wrapper and hid it in my handbag so that no one would know.

As a rule when swapping my handbags over I always empty them out, including all pockets and put them back into their dust bags to make sure they last as long as possible and stay in tip-top condition. Check me out, I’m such a good bag owner! Is there a badge for that? Anyway I obviously overlooked one small, sticky item in my favourite aubergine Radley bag one bright Spring day. Unfortunately for me I didn’t realise this until about two weeks ago when I unwrapped said bag from its pink dust cover and had to prize the sides apart. Yes 18 whole months later. This is the result…

I have tried everything to get the caramel off but it’s as stubborn as a mule and having none of it. I’ve frozen it, gently antibacterialised (made up word) it and pondered bleaching it but I can’t possible use such harsh chemicals near its soft leather outer, it would be ruined from the outside as well as in. Waaaaaa

I have learned a very valuable lesson, never ever give in when you think you’ve had enough, channel the thoughts and energy into finishing what you started because if you’re going to be greedy, do a decent job. Also tin foil is not a dense enough covering for caramel eggs, I have written to Cadbury and asked them to clean my bag. Still waiting for a response……

NaBloPoMo

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “A Lesson in Greed

  1. Naphtali says:

    Haha…you have learned a valuable lesson: of your going to be greedy go all the way. Good luck with Cadbury!

Leave a Reply

