Across the Pond

I was scrolling through lots of images of New York this morning after reading the news that the New York Marathon has been cancelled this weekend due to the destruction caused by Hurricane Sandy, curious to see the aftermath of yet another devastating event in the history of the great city and how people come together to restore the streets and parks to their former glory. I have been fortunate enough to visit New York a couple of years ago and fell in love with the city as soon as our car emerged from the Lincoln tunnel into Manhattan. As I’m sat here writing this I’m reminded how the weather was around 19 degrees the day we arrived, prompting us to peel off a couple of layers of winter clothes while snapping away in Times Square. We woke the following day to find a foot of snow on the hotel balcony and sub-zero temperatures!

I visited New York with my daughter who was just 2 at the time and so our activities we’re limited to daytime only pursuits, but that didn’t stop us spending hours in Central Park and FAO Schwartz! In fact my fondest memory of our trip was her waking up from a nap on the Staten Island ferry and through blurry eyes pointing out and shouting ‘Mummy looks, it’s Liberty’. I’ve already written my homage to the great city not long after returning from the trip, you can read it here.

If I could live anywhere, even just for a short time I’d love to live in New York. Like every big city it has worrying crime rates and ‘dangerous’ neighbourhoods but unlike every big city it has iconic architecture, beautiful wide-open green spaces and a breath-taking skyline. I want to sit in my fabulous Friends-like apartment eating Chinese take-out from those little white cartons that we don’t get here and stroll around The Guggenheim on my days off from working in anything whatsoever to do with fashion. Bit of a mix between Friends, Ugly Betty and SATC. Well, one can dream. On a day-to-day, and more realistic basis I am immersed in a lot of New York virtual culture, The New Yorker and NYDAILYNEWS.com are two of my current favourites. I’ve also started to amass a collection of American Vogue which is quite hard to come by in my rural Cumbrian village. On my next trip to New York (because I’m hoping there will be many return journeys in the future) I’m going to have to prepare a much more in-depth itinerary, pack sensible footwear and leave the kids at home!

If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be and why? Tell NaBloPoMo they’d love to hear all about it too.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

