Toys R Me

I woke up this morning feeling slightly panicked that I’ve not bought a single gift for Christmas yet, I have bought wrapping paper and a gazillion Christmas decorations but nothing for anyone to open come Christmas morning. Wow in one sentence I managed to write the word Christmas three times, I’m sorry I am well aware that it is only the 15th November and I shall have a word with myself.

I’m probably moving house in December so I’ve got a lot to organise hence the panic that I’ve not even made a start on stocking fillers. I’m very lucky to have two little girls who will play with pretty much anything so the lists to Santa are quite vague, this makes the shopping task easier as it doesn’t involve brawling in Toy R Us and it avoids any hissy fits or tears on the magical morning. Another advantage to having kids around this time of year is that you can make calendars for the grandparents that are easy to do on-line and fairly cheap (sorry Mum and Dad but with the state of the economy and all). So the kids are easy enough to buy for but when I was a kid I had a list written out from around September time and thanks to hours of trawling through the Argos catalogue I even noted down the item number to make it easier for Santa (prob not surprising that I would go on to work in auditing). When I wander around Smyths these days there is so much that I want even now, that I can’t get my kids to love as much as me;

1. Operation. I never got this as a kid but got a few go’s at school on bring a toy to school day and what’s not to like about prizing limbs from a human body while trying to avoid having the life frightened out of you by a klaxon? A&E it ain’t.

2. Fashion Wheel. I’m pretty sure my step-sister got this at some point and I absolutely loved it. I could easily while away the hours designing 1980’s power suits and floral tea dresses now. I might actually order one.

3. Mr Frosty. It’s just so awesome and you can never get bored with eating coloured ice right?

It’s taken me twice as long as usual to write this blog as I’ve got 6 other browser windows open looking at cool toys, its official being an adult sucks. If you have kids you can’t help but love Christmas (sorry) seeing their eyes light up when they believe Santa has been and delivered their goodies and the frenzy that follows really is magical. I can’t wait to spend most of the day lying on the living room floor setting up various games and removing the ridiculous amount of packaging on the Barbie dream house…….what it’s for the kids!

NaBloPoMo

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

