Champion

As a Mum to a toddler I watch a lot of cartoons, but not cool ones like Thunder Cats or Scooby Doo, I mean programmes such as Waybuloo and Balamory and these two in particular drive me insane. The Waybuloo concept I kind of get, four little characters who play peacefully together in a magical land, and at regular intervals during each episode do a bit of yoga with some kids in front of a green screen. In the real world you just cant get 5 year olds to stand/sit still, shurrup or tie their legs in knots on little rubber mats, nope just isn’t happening. Balamory just gets on my nerves because every time I am subjected to it I end up singing the bloody annoying songs for the rest of the day. Is it blue, is it green or should we got to the pink house instead? Who cares?!

Of course there is always an exception and as much I will probably regret bigging up Justin Fletcher because he is super annoying, I believe he has pulled a corker with his GiggleBiz show on Cbeebies. For those who have a life and have never seen it the show format is a  series of short comedy clips where Justin plays the main characters and does a few suspiciously good female characters too. My favourite by far is Geordie legend Keith Fit, complete with naff track suit, Keegan style curly perm and tasche his dubious North East accent makes this character amusing before he even starts acting. Keith Fit is all about teaching kids (or bairns) how to do various sports and in true comedy tradition he sucks at all of them and ends each segment with a thumbs up shouting ‘Champion’. I don’t think this character would have worked had he been from anywhere else but Newcastle, his over-enthusiastic slap-stick personality makes for great TV (in my under-stimulated, starved of adult conversation mind). No really, he’s funny!

I’ve searched all over the Internet to find some decent short clips of Keith, sadly this is the best of a poor quality bunch. If you get chance to catch Gigglebiz on Cbeebies (and no you don’t have to be a parent) watch it, it’s actually hilarious….right?

NaBloPoMo

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

