Is It Over?

Happy New Year how was your Christmas? Mine sucked. I’m still walking like an 80 year old who’s crapped herself, I broke my tooth on Christmas Eve and spent the morning of the 25th in the dentist, I under-cooked the turkey and had a dodgy stomach for most of Boxing Day. To make matters worse two of my sister’s gifts didn’t turn up, I laddered my tights getting dressed and I blew the fuse on the tree lights all within an hour. Now before you get me mixed up with the Grinch I am chuckling typing this because even though all of things really did happen, it made for an excellent Christmas! Our kids had a total ball and the icing on the cake was having my girls home and my sister to stay….I don’t think I’ll ever forget her face when she opened the hand crocheted Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle hat I got for her…haha class.

So it didn’t exactly to go plan in the Geordie household, but as Geordie gently explained while I was lying on our bedroom floor with toothache and a face like Quagmire, ‘Babe there is too much expectation on Christmas day as it is, as long as everyone enjoys it then who cares about the traditions?’ He then quickly added ‘But you will still be able to cook right?’ God forbid he doesn’t get turkey and all the trimmings, that’s one tradition that will never be over-looked, no matter how raw it turns out!

One of my best gifts was a letter from the hospital to say I finally have a surgery date and in just a couple of weeks I will need to find something new to moan about as I am preparing for a discectomy oooooh sounds like an I.T term doesn’t it? Thank God for the NHS because as you well know, the last 9 months have been pretty hard going.

I’ve spent the last few weeks gathering blog ideas and hope that as I rapidly approach my 12 month blog anniversary in March I can continue to write vaguely interesting articles you can smile at!

Bring it 2013!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

