Like 10,000 Spoons..

Don’t you just love song lyrics? I’m frequently impressed with my ability to remember thousands of song lyrics yet I can’t for the life of me remember why I went upstairs a minute ago, half way back down my memory will snap back to a hair brush or load of washing that needs doing. baby ipod

I think I have quite eclectic taste, my parents were big Queen fans as well as Simply Red, The Eurythmics and The Eagles to name a few. In my dwindling CD collection I have an album from each of these artists and most of their greatest hits on my Itunes. Like most I have gone through phases of music genres, I remember listening to nothing but R&B as a teenager and becoming an avid fan of Tupac and Biggie, most of their lyrics I can still reel off now ( It was all a dream, I used to read Word Up magazine :)) Without fail I would record the R&B chart with Trevor Nelson from Radio One each Sunday evening and spend the week learning lyrics from the new releases. Then as I left sixth form and started hitting the clubs at the weekend I got more and more into dance music and not that my kids will ever understand, I used to tape as much as possible from the city radio station Friday night set for all the latest releases. If I ever catch that set now it still makes me feel like getting glammed up and hitting the town.

Now that I’m a terribly old, decrepit 30 year old my taste in music should be woeful but it’s thanks to my eldest daughter that I can tunelessly sing along to the new Victoria Justice album, the whole of CD 1 of Now 83 and Pop Princesses 2012…because she plays them incessantly. Cheers Santa!

I find it quite strange that both me and my kids like Jessie J, Flo rida and a bit of Nicki Minaj. In the car we’ll all pipe up (even Geordie) when Carly Rae Jepson comes on and I defy anyone young or old to sit still while Gangnam Style is blaring out of the speakers.I’m fairly sure that I hated my parents’ music when I was a kid and wouldn’t be seen dead dancing to any of their lp’s. (See told you I was old) Does music only now reach across the ages or am I just from the generation who’s parents we’re all bores? We went to a families NYE party where the dance floor was awash with Mum’s pointing at each other miming the wrong lyrics, sloshing WKD all over the place and little kids throwing impressive shapes……and all to Will.I.Am and Britney B*£ch!

If music be the food of love, play on!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

