2.4 Children

I have spent the first half of today drawing designs for a double-decker bus for play-group, trying to sleep, caring for the little ones and not eating chocolate. It’s been a hell of a day so far I can tell you. The afternoon is starting off just as fascinating as I am sat in my hair dye t-shirt at my daughter’s computer typing and well dying my hair of course. When did Saturdays get so lame?

Not so long ago, Saturday was the highlight of my week, the morning spent shopping in town, usually for a new outfit for that evening, quick-lunch before heading home to play Mum/Wife and begin preparations for a night out. Saturday morning was my time for me and how I looked forward to it each and every week. I actually cannot remember the last time I did this, as I sit here and type I can’t remember the last time I spent longer than 30 minutes on my own, even when I go to the loo, my baby has worked out how to get the bathroom door open and will come and sit on my knee while I pee. I know, its gross.

Double decker bus at Inniskillin vineyard in N...

My bus is going to be so much better than this one

About that double-decker bus! I have promised the play-group kids I will make them a big red bus to kind of chug along for when we sing The Wheels on the Bus. Artistically it’s going to be ace, I’ve got the paint and bits and bobs to make it look realistic. Logistically it’s going to be a nightmare, the little ones are only around 16 months old and I imagine problems with over crowding, fighting and someone always bunks on without a ticket! I will upload a pic of my fabulous bus later this week. You know you want to make one.

I’ve tried to catch up on a  bit of sleep as last night my eldest daughter point-blank refused to sleep in her own bed. We’ve had a few sleep issues with her in the past but this was completely unexpected. Cue whole family awake until she finally gave up the ghost at 1.30am, crawled into her bed, snuggled down and dozed off. Baby settled shortly afterwards and by 2am I had turned into an extra from The Walking Dead. My body clock naturally woke me at 6.10am and the weekend started with a big sigh.

My baby is still full of cold, this is week three now? She’s also started doing a really good impression of our family dog barking so I’m thinking it’ll be a trip to the med centre on Monday for something stronger than Calpol.

I gave chocolate up for Lent. I am not religious, I did it because Geordie said I couldn’t. Then the patronising sod said to me at 1:00am ‘Babe seeing as you’re doing such a good job of sorting the kids out (both wailing like banshees and neither in their own beds) I’ll let you have a piece of Dairy Milk and it won’t count okay? He would LET me have a piece of Dairy Milk! Well if I was thinking about faltering before you can bet your life there is no way whatsoever I am backing down now. Condescending Get!

Yet another occasion where Geordie is lucky he’s not being fed his man parts……..covered in Dairy Milk!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “2.4 Children

  1. Alli D says:

    My favorite post of the year, I laughed so hard. I adore your work.

Leave a Reply

