The Importance of Being Kind

When was the last time you were kind to someone? You know, did something nice or complimented somebody because you knew it would make them smile? I think kindness is a quality to be treasured, especially in times when it’s far too easy to criticise, judge and even bully just by clicking a mouse. I teach my children to be kind, to play nicely with other kids (which they do for an hour or so) and share their things willingly. It’s when I see them having fun like this, so innocently that I worry the most about them becoming teenagers and forgetting to be kind to one another, so wrapped up in the daily pressures of school and Facebook!

Random acts of kindness make the headlines now which is a lovely way to end the national news bulletin after a week of bombings, funerals, murders and the fatal Texas explosion just this morning. It’s a huge annoyance that social networking sites like Facebook are becoming constant streams of like-this-image-if-you-care updates, especially the ‘My Dad said he’ll buy me a car if I get a million likes’ Oh bog off and finish your coursework will you? My Twitter feed regularly features celebrity RT requests for the most ridiculous of causes……hence only really following one celebrity (does that make me a stalker?).

I really think it’s about time we all started being a bit nicer to each other. We’re always telling our kids to do it, so instead of  a bitchy comment or turning a blind eye how about offering a helping hand, a kind word or a compliment once in a while? I’ll tell you what….I’ll get the ball rolling….

I don’t know what you’ve done with your hair…but you are looking fabulous!

Okay…..your turn.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “The Importance of Being Kind

  1. Leanne says:

    You are the most beautiful girl ever!!!!! Xxx

Leave a Reply

